Sewing Block Party

When you get asked if you would like to participate in a sewing Block Party for Petit à Petit + Family, you don’t hesitate, you just say YES!

Well… I definitely say yes because Celina is a amazing inspiration to me. In sewing as well as in photography. For example, photography wise, I’m a big fan of Sham of the Perfect where she’s one of the contributors. (If you don’t know it, check it out on IG or take a look at their blog, you won’t regret it! Real life at it’s best with it’s beauty ánd it’s flaws.)

dsc_0099

But today we’re here to talk about sewing. For this sewing block party that went on the whole of November, more than 30 seamstresses from all over the world were asked to sew something using the Petit à Petit and Family patterns. You should just check out all of the seamstresses, they’re a huge inspiration, so many beautiful clothes have been made for this block party.

dsc_0095-2

dsc_0038

But really, sew something… anything… with the patterns provided? Have you ever looked at the choices and the variety of patterns Petit à Petit and Family is offering? Needless to say I had an overload of possibilities, ideas, inspiration,… and sadly not infinite time. So today I share with you the first project I chose to sew. Others will definitely follow, there’s another one ready to get started which I would love to finish before Christmas. It helps to have a deadline! So stay tuned!

For today, the final day of the sewing block party, I sewed an Elm poncho (rain)coat for my daughter in a beautiful burgundy/red chambray paired with an even prettier Nani Iro double gauze. 2 of my favourite types of fabric combined, I’m quite happy about that fact!

dsc_0051

dsc_0124

I would like to make a side note before we continue. Not all the pictures do the chambray colour justice. It’s less ‘purple’ in real life. But the darker days, the fact that my (older) camera is playing games with me from time to time lately and the black ‘shine’ in the fabric made it a difficult one to photograph. I’m quite frustrated about that, but I’m ready to let it go… or at least I think so … 😉

dsc_0075

dsc_0060

dsc_0081

dsc_0105

I followed the pattern as it is. You don’t have to change a single thing because it’s beautiful as it is! I love the high-low hem. I love the drape of the poncho since it’s almost a full circle. I love the welt pockets.

I did however add a faux fur border to the hood. A removable faux fur border so the poncho can be worn easily through spring and summer as well. An extremely soft faux  fur border so my daughter was  immediately convinced to close the poncho into her arms.

dsc_0027

dsc_0055

dsc_0140

dsc_0091-2

To make the removable border I simply used the pattern piece of the hat border to make a large rectangular border out of the faux fur and the lining fabric. I made buttonholes in the lining of the removable border. This removable border fits perfectly around the outside and inside of the border of the hat. To prevent the removable border from shifting I used buttons which I covered with the same chambray fabric of the poncho. I sewed 5 buttons on the outside and 5 buttons on the inside of the hat.

dsc_0168

dsc_0183

dsc_0190

So if you would like a new look for your coat, you can simply change the border and it’s done! Or you can use the buttons to attach something else to them. Removable ears maybe? Or (felt) flowers? Or a crown? … I’ll leave you with your own imagination.

But before I say goodbye for today I want to let you know you can still get a 20% discount on all Petit à Petit patterns in the shop during the whole of November …

which is untill… TONIGHT!

So what are you waiting for? Go go go!

Or wait, you can also still take your change on winning all the Petit à Petit patterns!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

And really, don’t forget to check out all the other contributions to this amazing sewing Block Party!

PAP-SewingBlockParty2.jpg wordt weergegeven

Nov. 1st – Sweetkm | Nov. 2nd – The Sara Project | Nov. 3rd – La Folie | Nov. 4th – Hello Holli | Nov. 5th – Chalk and Notch | Nov. 6th – Sewing Like Mad | Nov. 7th – Beatnik Kids | Nov. 8th – Stitched Together | Nov. 9th – Coffee and Thread | Nov. 10th – Made by Toya | Nov. 11th – Stahlarbeit | Nov. 12th – Lily en Woody | Nov. 13th – My Petite Sophie | Nov. 14th – Handmade Frenzy | Nov. 15th – Paisley Roots | Nov. 16th – While she was sleeping | Nov. 17th – My Cozy co | Nov. 18th – A Jennuine Life | Nov. 19th – Knee Socks and Goldilocks | Nov. 20th – Sanae Ishida | Nov. 21st – Little Cumquat | Nov. 22nd – Gaafmachine | Nov. 23rd – Craftstorming | Nov. 24th – Made by Sara | Nov. 25th – Buzzmills | Nov. 26th – Bartacks and Singletrack | Nov. 27th – Moineau & Petit Pois | Nov. 28th – Naii | Nov. 29th – Just Add Fabric | Nov. 30th – Mie Made Memories | Enjoyful Makes | Dec. 1st – Petit a Petit and Family

Greetz

Mie xx

PS: A huge thank you to Celina, Emi and Ines for letting me be a part of this block party. I really enjoyed it a lot!

 

DETAILS

Pattern: Elm poncho raincoat by Petit à Petit + Family / Size: 4-5 years / Main fabric: Chambray burgundy by Les Trouvailles d’Amandine / Lining: Sound Circle-Komodo, Double Gauze by Nani Iro / Shop: Cousette & Petite Couture

6 gedachtes over “Sewing Block Party

Comments are welcome!

